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Affiliate marketing news and opinion from Craig Cortright

Archive for September, 2004

Affiliate Opinions: Communication is King

Posted by admin On September - 30 - 2004

‘Communication is VERY important. With many programs to promote, it’s not possible to check everyone’s site for current promotions etc.

I love when affiliate managers email me letting me know what is going on with their site/program. It really helps me keep things up to date and get out merchants promotions in a timely manner.’

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‘Personal contact from affiliate managers is critical. High-performing affiliates should be hearing from managers on a regular basis. The most productive affiliates often have worthwhile and creative promotions to suggest.

Also, personal contact helps to keep your program “top of mind.” Remember, most successful affiliates are promoting dozens of programs. We need to be reminded about yours! Almost every time I get a phone call or personal email from an affiliate manager, a specific promotion results from it, with a corresponding spike in sales.’

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‘I feel any contact with a merchant via the affiliate manager warrants a response. This is far too often not the case in my experience.

If you choose to promulgate links via personalized emails, make sure the code has been tested before compelling me to do a whole lot of work inserting them in various categories.

I frequently get “corrected” emails within a couple of hours or the next day, which advise that either tracking code was incorrect, or learn the hard way (from a customer) that the given link returns a 404 error. Makes us both look bad.’

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‘We need to know what is coming, what is going to be hot, before it happens, to give us lead-time to create a good marketing effort.’

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‘We put out a monthly newsletter around the 10th of each month for sales and specials. We would like as early notice as possible of the up coming sales to inform our customers.’

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‘One email monthly or quarterly would be great. Coupon codes or specials mailed in advance of the promo would be nice.’

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‘Affiliate managers need to be more responsive in answering questions and approving customized text/images. I need images to fit into the layout of the newsletter, but on average, having requested approval, 99% of the affiliate managers never respond.

Another quick thought: affiliate managers should remember that even small sites can bring quality traffic and some of those sites may someday become super affiliates. Nurture those relationships.’

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The comments above are excerpts from the AffStat 2004 Report, which includes candid comments from affiliates on a variety of issues.

Rotate Affiliate Banners

Posted by admin On September - 27 - 2004

If you are running affiliate banners on your site, it’s essential that you keep things fresh and rotate the banners.

Otherwise, you risk banner burnout with your visitors. When you rotate the banners, you will increase your click-throughs and revenues, since you can serve a variety of banners to every visitor.

Get the free OpenAds ad server at http://www.openads.org/.

eComXpo - Affiliate Conference Online

Posted by admin On September - 25 - 2004

I was just reading the blog of iGive.com Founder & CEO, Rob Grosshandler, and was intrigued to see a soft launch announcement of eComXpo.

According to Rob, eComXpo will be a place where ‘a bunch of folks’ attempt to create a “big-tent” event for the affiliate marketing industry: a single, independent venue where all involved in this industry can educate, be educated, meet, and have fun’.

It’s going to take place completely online, and he expects to have over 100 presentations, spread over 3 days.

I’m anxious for the formal announcement in October, as this sounds a lot like what I had hoped to do way back in Y2K.

It was December 2000 when I teamed up with the now defunct affiliate program directory, CashPile.com, to stage the first and last Affiliate Webinar.

Back then, we had a virtual exhibition hall, and a series of five speakers. Each of the speaker presentations took place in a chat room, and it was an interesting, but hectic time.

We didn’t think to eliminate the ability to attendees to post in the chat room during presentations, so while the presenters were sharing their knowledge, there would be non sequiturs popping up here and there.

Glitches aside, it was a good thing, and I anticipate a great eComXpo.

For anybody that would like to take a walk down memory lane, you can check out the transcripts from Affiliate Webinar 2000 below:

What do you do when your merchant goes belly up?
Presented by Dan Gray

Affiliate Union and the Rights of Affiliates
Presented by Brian Clark

Q & A with Commission Junction
Co-presented by Melissa Chagaris & Ken Zachmann

Why are so many affiliates inactive?
Presented by Ken Evoy

Search Engine Strategies for Affiliates
Presented by Rick Bier

Top Amazon Affiliate: Bookreporter.com?

Posted by admin On September - 23 - 2004

According to a press release from the Internet Media Review, Bookreporter.com is the Best Online Book Marketer.

Bookreporter.com is an Amazon affiliate, and the site won the IMR Business Strategy Award 2004 for using best strategies and practices to make money selling other people’s books online.

Among the key metrics studied by IMR were: having a link to book reviews in a dominant marketing quadrant, quality and functionality of browse, quality and functionality of search, books reviews in persistent navigation, helpfulness of reviews and credibility of reviewer.

ScientificAmerican.com came in a close second to bookreporter.com for successful compliance of these key metrics.

Affiliate Stat: Few Know the Rules

Posted by admin On September - 20 - 2004

I was reading a thread in a marketing forum recently, and somebody asked which affiliate programs permit pay per click search engine advertising.

I replied that whenever you are in doubt, you should read the affiliate agreement, since some programs forbid PPC bidding for their trademarked name(s) and/or certain terms, and if the affiliate is caught, the agreement might stipulate that the merchant has the right to charge back, and/or disallow any and all commissions.

A number of affiliates didn’t seem to like the approach of reading the rules first. One replied, “It’s always easier to get forgiveness than permission in anything…just do it.”

The stat below confirms what I’ve been worried about as an affiliate manager, affiliates are not reading the affiliate agreements, and that can lead to legal liabilities and brand risks for the merchant.

agreement_stat.gif

I’d urge all affiliates to read the affiliate agreements of affiliate programs they promote.

Not only because these are terms to which you are legally agreeing, but you should know what you can and cannot do, and what you might think is totally reasonable on your part could result in forfeited commissions.

Affiliate Program Glossary

Posted by admin On September - 19 - 2004

Affiliate marketing has a language all its own. Below is a collection of the frequently used terms.

Above the Fold: part of a web page that is visible once the page has loaded, normally it is the top part of a web page. This term is derived from the newspaper industry, referring to the portion of the front page that is visible with the paper folded.

Affiliate: a Web site owner that earns a commission for referring clicks, leads, or sales to a merchant.

Affiliate Agreement: terms between a merchant and an affiliate that govern the relationship.

Affiliate Information Page: a page or pages on your web site that explains clearly and concisely what your affiliate program is all about.

Affiliate Link: a piece of code residing in a graphic image or piece of text placed on an affiliate’s web page that notifies the merchant that an affiliate should be credited for the customer or visitor sent to their web site.

Affiliate Manager: the manager of an Affiliate Program who is responsible for creating a newsletter, establishing incentive programs, forecasting and budgeting, overseeing front-end marketing of the program, and monitoring the industry for news and trends.

Affiliate Program (also an Associate, Partner, Referral, or Revenue Sharing Program): a merchant pays a commission to an affiliate for generating clicks, leads, or sales from a graphic or text link located on the affiliate’s site.

Affiliate Program Directory: directory of affiliate programs, featuring information such as the commission rate, number of affiliates, and affiliate solution provider. Associate-It, AssociatePrograms.com and Refer-it are among the largest Affiliate Program Directories.

Affiliate Solution Provider: company that provides the network, software, and services needed to create and track an affiliate program.

Associate: synonym for affiliate.

Auto-Approve: affiliate application approval process where all applicants are automatically approved for an affiliate program.

Auto-Responder: an email feature that automatically sends an email message to anyone who sends it a message.

Banner Ad: an electronic billboard or ad in the form of a graphic image that comes in many sizes and resides on a web site’s web page. Banner ad space is sold to advertisers to earn revenue for the web site.

Browser: a client program (software), such as Internet Explorer, Netscape, or Opera, that is used to look at various kinds of Internet resources.

Charge Back: an incomplete sales transaction (i.e. merchandise is purchased and then returned) that results in an affiliate commission deduction.

Click & Bye: refers to the process of an affiliate losing the visitor to the merchant’s site once they click on a merchant’s banner or text link.

Click-through: the action when a user clicks on a link.

Click-Through Ratio (CTR): percentage of visitors who click-through on a link to visit the merchant’s web site.

Client: a software program that is used to contact and obtain data from a server software program on another computer, often across a great distance. Each client program is designed to work with one or more specific kinds of server programs, and each server requires a specific kind of client. A Web browser is a specific kind of client.

Co-branding: situation where affiliates are able include their own logo and branding on the pages to which they send visitors through affiliate links.

Collaborative Commerce Networks: networks of merchants and web sites that work hand in hand as true business partners. Merchants treat their affiliates as sales and distribution channels worthy of any and all support that manufacturers would give to their resellers.

Commission: income an affiliate receives for generating a sale, lead or click-through to a merchant’s web site. Sometimes called a referral fee, a finder’s fee or a bounty.

Cookies: small files stored on the visitor’s computer, which record information that is of interest to the merchant site. With affiliate programs, cookies have two primary functions: to keep track of what a customer purchases, and to track which affiliate was responsible for generating the sale (and is due a commission).

Context-Centric: matching your product or service offer closely to the visitors of an affiliate’s site. Place the product or service in-context (closely related to the content it’s next to) and more people will buy.

Contextual Link: integration of affiliate links with related text.

Contextual Merchandising: placing targeted products near relevant content.

Conversion Rate: percentage of clicks that result in a commissionable activity (sale or lead).

CPA (Cost Per Action): cost metric for each time a commissionable action takes place.

CPC (Cost Per Click): cost metric for each click if an advertising link.

CPM (Cost Per Thousand): cost metric for one thousand banner advertising impressions.

CPO (Cost Per Order): cost metric for each time an order is transacted.

Customer Bounty: pays the affiliate partner for every new customer that they direct to a merchant.

E-mail Link: an affiliate link to a merchant site in an e-mail newsletter, signature, or a dedicated e-mail blast.

Email Signature (or Sig File): signature option allows for a brief message to be imbedded at the end of every email that a person sends.

eZine: short for electronic magazine. Some e-zines are simply electronic versions of existing print magazines, whereas others exist only in their digital format.

FAQ: (Frequently Asked Questions) FAQs are documents that answer the most common questions on a particular subject.

HTML code: the lines of code that affiliates use to put links on their Web sites. Affiliate solution providers often provide a tool where affiliates can simply copy the code for an affiliate link and paste it into their own HTML pages.

Hybrid Model: affiliate commission model that combines payment options (i.e. CPC & CPA).

Impression: advertising metric that indicates how many times an advertising link is displayed.

In-house: alternative to using an affiliate solution provider; building affiliate program architecture within a company.

Lifetime Value of a Customer: the amount of sales in dollars that a customer in his lifetime will spend with a particular company.

Manual Approval: affiliate application approval process where all applicants are manually approved for an affiliate program.

Merchant: an online business that markets and sells goods or services. Merchants establish affiliate programs as a cost effective method to get consumers to purchase a product, register for a service, fill out a form, or visit a Web site.

Mini-site: prefabricated HTML page for affiliates that displays new or specialized products with integrated affiliate links.

Pay-Per-Sale: program where an affiliate receives a commission for each sale of a product or service that they refer to a merchant’s web site. Pay-per-sale programs usually offer the highest commissions and the lowest conversion ratio.

Pay-Per-Lead: program where an affiliate receives a commission for each sales lead that they generate for a merchant web site. Examples would include completed surveys, contest or sweepstakes entries, downloaded software demos, or free trials. Pay-per-lead generally offers midrange commissions and midrange to high conversion ratios.

Pay-Per-Click: program where an affiliate receives receive a commission for each click (visitor) they refer to a merchant’s web site. Pay-per-click programs generally offer some of the lowest commissions (from $0.01 to $0.25 per click), and a very high conversion ratio since visitors need only click on a link to earn the affiliate a commission.

Residual Earnings: programs that pay affiliates not just for the first sale a shopper form their sites makes, but all additional sales made at the merchant’s site over the life of the customer.

ROAS: stands for ‘Return on Advertising Spending’. This is the amount of revenue generated for every dollar spent on advertising. For instance, a ROAS of $1 means you’re generating $1 in sales for every $1 in advertising spend, and a ROAS of $5 means you generate $5 in sales for every $1 in spending.

ROI: stands for ‘Return on Investment’. This is what all marketing managers want to see from the money they spend on their marketing and advertising campaigns. The higher the sales, the large the number of shoppers and the greater the profit margin generated by sales – the better the ROI.

Server: a computer, or a software package, that provides a specific kind of service to client software running on other computers. The term can refer to a particular piece of software, such as a WWW server, or to the machine on which the software is running, e.g.”Our mail server is down today, that’s why e-mail isn’t getting out.” A single server machine could have several different server software packages running on it, thus providing many different servers to clients on the network.

Spam (or Spamming): electronic junk mail or junk newsgroup postings, generally e-mail advertising for some product sent to a mailing list or newsgroup.

Storefront: prefabricated HTML page for affiliates that displays new or specialized products with integrated affiliate links.

Super Affiliates: those small percentage of sites - the top 1% of affiliates, based on performance and earnings - that generate the lions share of the revenue for your program. They are born marketers and are very successful with the affiliate program they promote from their sites

Targeted Marketing: offering the right offer to the right customer at the right time.

Tracking Method: the way that a program tracks referred sales, leads or clicks. The most common are by using a unique web address (URL) for each affiliate, or by embedding an affiliate ID number into the link that is processed by the merchant’s software. Some programs also use cookies for tracking.

Text Link: link that is not accompanied by a graphical image.

Two-tier: affiliate marketing model that allows affiliates to sign up additional affiliates below themselves, so that when the second tier affiliates earn a commission, the affiliate above them also receives a commission. Two-tier affiliate marketing is also known as MLM (Multilevel Marketing).

Viral Marketing: the rapid adoption of a product or passing on of an offer to friends and family through word-of-mouth (or word-of-email) networks. Any advertising that propagates itself the way viruses do.

White List Affiliate Manager Emails

Posted by admin On September - 16 - 2004

Any good affiliate manager will consider their affiliate partners to be their sales team on the Web. And a successful affiliate takes advantage of the tools and support at their disposal. But all too often, the tools, updates, and mission critical information from affiliate manager to affiliate are not getting through.

The culprit here is the over zealous spam filter. For all of the good that spam filters do, they are not perfect, and they turn up fals positives (flagging email you want to receive as spam).

Many email clients send the email they flag as spam to a folder, where you can review the email and ‘white list’ the email from specific senders you wish to hear from in the future.

In newer versions of AOL, there is a link that reads ‘Spam Controls’ below the ‘Report Spam’ button. Click on ‘Spam Controls’ and then click on ‘Custom Sender List’ to add the email addresses of your affiliate managers.

Similarly, the newer versions of Outlook have a folder called ‘Junk E-mail.’ In order to be sure your important emails are not getting dumped into that folder, go to Actions, then Junk E-mail, then Add Sender to Safe Senders List.

The process varies for various email clients, but the bottom line is that it’s in your best interest to ‘white list’ your affiliate managers, so that you can receive the important emails.